65 Maine House Reps again vote to kill FGM bill (list)

FGM Awareness Poster designed by Max Allen, Cargo Collective. http://cargocollective.com/maxallen/FGM-awareness-poster-personal-development

AUGUSTA – After the Maine Senate unanimously passed the latest bill to ban female genital mutilation, a coalition of Representatives in the Maine House, mostly Democrats joined by a handful of liberal Independents and Greens, voted to kill the bill.

After a series of procedural maneuvers, the bill now sits in what is known as non-concurrence between the Senate and House, and is unlikely to pass in the closing days of the the legislature.

To learn more about female genital mutilation, click here.

Below is a list of the sixty-five Representatives who voted to kill the bill by voting Yes for the “ought not to pass” report of the bill:

Rep. Kent Ackley (Litchfield, part of Monmouth, Wales)

Rep. Robert Alley (Addison, Beals, Cherryfield, Columbia, Columbia Falls, Harrington, Jonesboro, Jonesport, Marshfield, Milbridge, Whitneyville, Centerville Township)

Rep. Chris Babbidge (part of Kennebunk)

Rep. Donna Bailey (part of Saco)

Rep. Dillon Bates (part of Westbrook)

Rep. Kevin Battle (part of South Portland)

Rep. Pinny Beebe-Center (Owls Head and Rockland)

Rep. Seth Berry (Bowdoin, Bowdoinham, part of Richmond, Perkins Island Twp)

Rep. Lydia Blume (part of York)

Rep. Heidi Brooks (part of Lewiston)

Rep. Mark Bryant (part of Windham)

Rep. Owen Casas (Camden, Islesboro and Rockport)

Rep. Ralph Chapman (Blue Hill, Brooklin, Brooksville, Castine, Sedgwick, Surry)

Rep. Benjamin Collings (part of Portland)

Rep. Janice Cooper (Chebeague Island, Long Island, Yarmouth)

Rep. Matthea Daughtry (part of Brunswick)

Rep. Dale Denno (Cumberland and part of Gray)

Rep. Mick Devin (Bremen, Bristol, Damariscotta, Newcastle, Nobleboro (part), South Bristol (part), Monhegan Plantation, Louds Island )

Rep. Donna Doore (part of Augusta)

Rep. Michelle Dunphy (Old Town and Penobscot Indian Island)

Rep. Richard Farnsworth (part of Portland)

Rep. Ryan Fecteau (part of Biddeford)

Rep. Aaron Frey (part of Bangor, part of Orono)

Rep. Roger Fuller (part of Lewiston)

Rep. Drew Gattine (part of Westbrook)

Speaker Sara Gideon (Freeport, part of Pownal)

Rep. Jared Golden (part of Lewiston)

Rep. James Handy (part of Lewiston)

Rep. Denise Harlow (part of Portland)

Rep. Craig Hickman (part of Monmouth, Readfield, Winthrop)

Rep. George Hogan (Old Orchard Beach)

Rep. Brian Hubbell (Bar Harbor, Lamoine, Mount Desert)

Rep. Patty Hymanson (Ogunquit, part of Sanford, part of York, part of Wells)

Rep. Erik Jorgensen (part of Portland)

Rep. Victoria Kornfield (part of Bangor)

Rep. Walter Kumiega (Cranberry Isles, Deer Isle, Frenchboro, Isle au Haut, North Haven, Southwest Harbor, Stonington, Swan’s Island, Tremont, Vinalhaven, Marshall Island Township)

Rep. Mark Lawrence (Eliot, part of Kittery, part of South Berwick)

Rep. Thomas Longstaff (part of Waterville)

Rep. Colleen Madigan (part of Waterville, part of Oakland)

Rep. John Martin (Allagash, Ashland, Eagle Lake, Fort Kent, Masardis, New Canada, Portage Lake, St. Francis, Wallagrass and Plantations of Garfield, Nashville, Oxbow, St. John, Winterville, Northwest Aroostook)

Rep. Danny Martin (Frenchville, Grand Isle, Madawaska, St. Agatha and Van Buren, plus the unorganized territory of Square Lake (including Cross Lake, Madawaska Lake and Sinclair Townships)

Rep. David McCrea (Caswell, Easton, Fort Fairfield, Hamlin, Limestone, Presque Isle (part), Stockholm, Cyr Plantation, Connor Township)

Rep. Joyce McCreight (part of Brunswick, Harpswell, West Bath)

Rep. Andrew McLean (part of Gorham, part of Scarborough)

Rep. Gina Melaragno (part of Auburn)

Rep. Kim Monaghan (part of Cape Elizabeth)

Rep. Matt Moonen (part of Portland)

Rep. Margaret O’Neil (part of Saco)

Rep. Jennifer Parker (part of North Berwick, part of South Berwick)

Rep. Anne Perry (Baileyville, Calais, Charlotte, Passamaquoddy Indian Township, Passamaquoddy Pleasant Point, Pembroke, Perry, Robbinston, Baring Plantation)

Rep. Teresa Pierce (part of Falmouth)

Rep. Lois Reckitt (part of South Portland)

Rep. Christina Riley (Jay, part of Livermore, Livermore Falls)

Rep. Rachel Talbot Ross (part of Portland)

Rep. Deane Rykerson (part of Kittery)

Rep. Heather Sanborn (part of Falmouth, part of Portland)

Rep. John Schneck (part of Bangor)

Rep. BettyAnn Sheats (part of Auburn, Minot)

Rep. Mike Sylvester (part of Portland)

Rep. Denise Tepler (Topsham)

Rep. Maureen Terry (part of Gorham)

Rep. Ryan Tipping (part of Orono)

Rep. Ralph Tucker (part of Brunswick)

Rep. Charlotte Warren (Hallowell, Manchester, West Gardiner)

Rep. Stan Ziegler (Belmont, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill, Palermo, Searsmont)

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest